�


chlamygirl
Index
Archive
Favourites
Guestbook
Email
Photos
About
Host
Design by PS



toot toot
2004-08-05

someone asked to buy one of my prints! not only that, but basquette even posted about it. that is just wow!

a little while ago i put a one liner on my photo page saying that if anyone wanted to buy any of them they should email me. it was feeble attempt at marketing myself, i mean really the traffic to this site is analogous to traffic passing through a ghost town. if i was really serious about selling my stuff i would put my photos onto a site that allows you to sell you stuff. so even though i put that line up and friends and family tell me the photos are good, i never thought anyone would want to pay for any of them. two friends of mine who are artistically inclined, have been pushing me to get a portfolio together and have an exhibition. when i hear the words portfolio and exhibition i shudder. in the last photography class i took, there was a guy who constantly talked about building up his portfolio and having exhibitions. unfortunately, i didn�t think his photos were much chop, but that�s just my opinion. i know i sound like a snob, but for me they were more like happy snaps. when he would tell people what his plans were, no one said anything to him, they just smiled and nodded. i guess i�m afraid that if i do decide to get my act together, i will be wasting my time because i will be like that guy in class, thinking i am good enough and mistaking the smiles and nods for �please get me the hell away from this chick with the ordinary pictures�. really it�s not hard to take good photos when you have a good camera and while i have taken shocking photos with my good cameras, the equipment does make a big difference. the other thing is there are so many people out there who take great photos, that are works of art. who am i to think i can put myself alongside them in terms of quality?

i don�t know. i have been thinking about this more and more lately and for the immediate future i�ll probably just keep thinking and not doing. i find it interesting that i had no qualms about packing up my life, moving half way across the world by myself to work in an area of science that i knew nothing about, but am terrified to publicly show my photos.

earlier comments

|