�


chlamygirl
Index
Archive
Favourites
Guestbook
Email
Photos
About
Host
Design by PS



doctor, doctor
2004-09-21

i didn�t achieve everything on my weekend to do list but i did mange some things. of course i didn�t do the most important thing and that was to get out of the house.

i had a doctors appointment today which i originally setup a few weeks ago to talk about my acne problem. i talked to my doctor about that and i also told her about how i have been feeling lately. i didn�t know how to begin so i sat quietly for what seemed like a long time but was probably only about 30 seconds, while my eyes welled up. the doctor didn�t push me she just waited for me to begin. �i think i am going crazy� i began. and then proceeded to talk for the next 30 minutes telling her how i feel, what i do or don�t do when i feel this way, what physical symptoms i have etc etc. she told me i was depressed and pretty severely so she suggested medicine and counseling. i cringed at the mention of the word medication. this is part of the reason why i haven�t been to the doctor before about all of this. i think in general doctors are too quick to prescribe antibiotics and antidepressants. i don�t want my body to get use to either one of them. sure they may work in the short term, but what if i have to take them long term and my body builds a tolerance to them? anyway i told the doctor i was hesitant about taking meds and she was kinda cool with that, but told me i would benefit from counseling. so i agreed, she wrote a referral and wants to see me in one months time. of course the computers were down when i went to make my appointment so i don�t know when i will get to see someone. the doc kept repeating that she was glad that i spoke with her, and in a way i am glad i did too. i�m still not convinced that i am really depressed, at times i think i am just lazy. the word depressed seems, to me at least, to have lost it�s umph. like the words nice or love. oh i love that scarf, or those shoes are nice, the boy didn�t ask me out i am so depressed. real depression is a chemical imbalance in the brain, how does the doc know that i really have this?!? in any case it was hard to talk about but i hope the counseling can help, when i eventually get there.

|